I made a short film / music video / travelogue / piece of content recently, “wandering,” and you can watch it here.

This was my first time trying to put together a video project of this size and ambition, and it was a lot of fun. I was visiting an area unlike anything I'd seen before, and brimming with things to share-- rainforest, tidepools, mountains, and all the little critters within them. Filming was pretty unobtrusive, just a matter of remembering to keep my phone nearby while sraëka-lillian and I hiked around, and focusing more on the experience than in finding the perfect shot. The last clip in the video was taken without her even noticing she was being filmed (although I ran it all by her later before publishing). Really liking this as a way to process and share this sort of experience, and I'm hoping to do more of this sort of thing going forward. I also have some older video ideas that have been kicking around, and this experience has given me some confidence that they won't be too painful to follow through on.

The soundtrack was recorded in two phases. First, I hummed a rhythm line to myself in-the-field and recorded it with my phone. Then later, after I'd edited all the video clips together how I wanted them (using the microsoft video editor that came with my laptop), I put the track in Reaper ("evaluation license") and used it as the basis for the soundtrack. I layered a few synth lines in there, using the synth plug-ins that come with Reaper (I think), and there you have it. Filming took place over five days, and post-production was another five. I can get into that.