I made another video thing. You can watch it here. It pretty much speaks for itself, but I want to talk about it anyway.

Late November 2020 I just started building this... thing. Out of wire I keep around. I started calling it an angel. It was big and awkward and always on the verge of toppling over. Pretty soon, Sraƫka-Lillian started calling it our "Christmas tree," and I realized that it was probably my seasonal decorating urge that forced me to construct it. Once it was built, I had no idea what to do with it. It was ugly and annoying but I was deeply attached. It didn't photograph well but I felt the need to memorialize it somehow.

It sat around for like a year and a half. I'd photograph or film it occasionally, never satisfied with the results. After watching The Grand Bizarre, I got a new appreciation for stop-motion animation, and decided to try my hand at that. It was difficult and the results weren't perfect, but I'd try it again in the future.

But in filming that stop-motion sequence, I put a lot of stress on the delicate sculpture. The old nightgown was heavy and irreparably changed the thing. What had already felt like an albatross was way worse now, more loaded with bad memories, uglier, damaged. I regretted never getting a good shot of the sculpture in its prime. And what's more, I was moving soon. I had to break the thing down and get rid of it.

So I filmed that process. Then all these pictures and videos sat on my laptop for a long time still.

Totally unrelated to this project, I started working on a noise album. Not because I want to be someone who makes music that people listen to, but because I like noisy shit and I like fucking around. When I finally got around to making this goddamn video, somehow two years in the making at this point, I decided that one of those tracks fit this project pretty well. So, anyway, here it is. I'm not totally happy with the video, but I do like making these things and putting them out there. It's off my conscience.